Ireland

Guest:

penfold:
the 2 occassions that I stopped to ask directions in N. Ireland was I told “Sorry driver, we don’t speak English here”

I have been to Northern Ireland once, and I encountered exactly the same attitude. Sheer nastiness.

I was spat at in Belfast, and had bricks thrown at the lorry, simply because I happened to fall out of my mother’s ■■■■■■ in Kent. When I tried to go for a beer, I was approached at the bar by thugs, telling me “Sorry Son, locals only” In the most threatening and frightening way imaginable…

Of course, I understand that Ireland has a long and troubled history, especially in relation to Westminster, but I felt that the hatred I was shown by the locals was completely unneccessary. I am a truck driver, not a politician, FFS. It isn’t my fault.

I have been to a lot of countries, and have experienced much friendship. I have drunk tea with Iraqis while our countries were at war, and we have got on like a house on fire. I have got on well with other truckers from two dozen different countries.

I’m sorry if this ruffles feathers, but the Northern Irish are the most hate-filled people I have ever met. I would never go there again, and that’s the only country I have ever been to about which I would say that.

Vince

You most of been in the wrong part of belfast because I am from northern ireland and most people I now are very friendly even if your from England or south Ireland or any other country or if your a protestant or Catholic but I now there are some parts that you are better to stay away from like crossmaglen,bogside mostly near the border. I’m from a place outside derry and
I always hear in the newspapers that someone got beat to dead or run over or murdered by raid or a bomb when off est