Ireland

Hi i am new here and i am thinking about going for a change of career and getting a HGV licence, i live in donegal, does anyone know what it is like for to get work in Ireland etc. any advice to a total newbie would really help.
Cheers
Paul

Paul,

Haulage in ireland has changed dramatically in the last five years or so, mainly due to eastern europeans coming here as drivers and hauliers, i drove for a couple of lads here and most have now got polish, nolans in new ross had about 50/50 irish and welsh back about '96 when i was there but very little of either now.
Fridge work seems to be the only international area still going. The groupage looks to be gone to eastern co’s.
Dont be disillusioned though, maybe I’m abit dismisal about it all. Others may have better reports for you.

From what I’ve read,as of 6 months ago,there were 300,000 Poles in Ireland.
Pre 2004,for the first time in 150 years, Ireland was actually attracting their own people back to Ireland because the “Celtic Tiger” economy was performing so well.
I am afraid to say, that Bertie Ahern has blown it big time now.
His open door policy to foreigners will now drive those of Irish descent,who had come back to Ireland,away from Ireland again.
What was he thinking about?

God gsm, don’t you ever change the record■■? :unamused: :unamused: :unamused:

:open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth:

wow its amazing what u can read on the back of a beer mat these days

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

thats about it Paddy dosnt like immigrants doh
he’ll have to become one himself

hitch:
thats about it Paddy dosnt like immigrants doh
he’ll have to become one himself

I’m not Irish or of Irish descent,just commenting on the stupidity of someone who should know better(Bertie Ahern)!