WANNABE trucker

Hi everyone i am Darren and i am new here as trying to find out how to become a truck driver .have to mention i have been working as a multi drop courier driver for about 3 years and i really want to become a trucker .could anyone point me in the right direction as i am not sure which company should i go for learning ,i am afraid not to be tricked and i don’t know which recognized company are around my area,i have to mention i live in bicester but i will not mind to go even oxford or near northampton as long as the learner driver company is worth it ,One other thing how should i do this in a quick process i mean should i start learning for the theory test and register after or go and register and then follow the steps?what is the first 10 steps?do i have to apply for a provisional license for hgv?forgot to mention i am 31 years old and have a license since 2005 but i don’t understand do i have to hand in my license to dvla ?i am trying to find the steps for becoming a trucker as i always loved to be one of the big boys out there :slight_smile: as a last question how its cheaper to apply for class 2 first or should i use that back to back as i want to become a HGV /LGV driver and why do i have to pass a CPC if its not really required or it is ?.thank you for any help.

. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: Welcome darrensapphire7 :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: .

darrensapphire7:
what is the first 10 steps?

All the LGV TRAINING TIPS, including the Recommended LGV training schools that have been recommended by members and the steps to take, can be accessed by clicking on the link in my signature :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:
The link includes THE INITIAL DRIVER CPC which started on 10 Sept 2009.

THE DRIVER SHORTAGE IS AN ADVERTISING MYTH - Generally more drivers than jobs in the UK
However, many newbies on this site have recently secured permanent full time employment :smiley:

Forum with some useful stuff and Forum for questions on drivers hours