Starting out...

Hello all

I have been getting more despondent with work recently and have thought about switching careers over to lorry driving. I have been a car driver for 8 years, with a clean licence and no accidents. I have a very responsible job in a hospital but want a change of career completely.

I’ve been talking to a driver I know about getting a firm to fund my training in return for a contract with them. He seems to think its possible. Is this realistic for a newbie driver? Also - would I need experience to get any work at all?I know there really isnt a shortage of drivers, but i’m not bothered about hours etc as I slave away at the moment for bugger all lol so am fairly flexible!! I live in Norfolk with several firms around such as Freight Force and Turners etc. Is it just a case of sending off letters and seeing what turns up? If I have to self fund for my licence I will, and might do some agency work (If they’ll have me!)

I’m not desperate for work at present as im still employed, but just want some opinions really.

Am I barking up the wrong tree??

Any thoughts appreciated
Cheers

. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: Welcome bazza123 :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: .
All the LGV TRAINING TIPS, including the Recommended LGV training schools that have been recommended by members, can be accessed by clicking on the link in my signature :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:
The link includes THE INITIAL DRIVER CPC which starts on 10 Sept 2009.

Forum with some useful stuff and Forum for questions on drivers hours

bazza123:
I’ve been talking to a driver I know about getting a firm to fund my training in return for a contract with them. He seems to think its possible.

bazza123:
Am I barking up the wrong tree??

In regard to what that driver said - yes

bazza123:
If I have to self fund for my licence I will, and might do some agency work (If they’ll have me!)

Many ask for a minimum of 2 years experience which usually means HAVING the licence for 2 years.

bazza123: