Newbie here..........

Hi everyone, first time poster here, so be gentle.

I have no experience of the transport industry whatsoever, other than my old man was a HGV driver (retired over 10 years ago), and am a little taken aback by the volume of knowledge and qualities needed.

I’m contemplating a career change and switching from the Prison Service to something totally different. “Dont do it”, i hear you say, but i’d say the same to someone going the other way!! Living near the M62/M1 interchange there seems a lot of jobs around, which made me look into this career path… Is there a shortage of drivers or something■■?

So hello again and please be prepared for a bombardment of questions. :smiley:

Hi and welcome to the forum. So far as jobs go, it’s certainly the best it’s been for a long time. Don’t be fooled, though. Some of the work will be seasonal up to Christmas - so you’ll miss that now.

I believe there was someone else on here who left the Prison Service - so you’re not the first.

Feel free to bombard with questions.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

As someone who has been through the test and its new at driving in general (only been driving for 2 years prior to passing my C), its tough. As a newbie, you’ll be thrown in at the deep end at most places and are expected to swim. You’ll be doing all sorts of work for all sorts of companies. So are better than others. You will make mistakes, you will break something at some point but don’t let that worry you. You drive on the road everyday, something is bound to go wrong.