refreshing

hi all i started my first class 1 job last week for stobarts n although im lovin the job my reversing is shockin n just cant seem to c an improvment after a week behind the wheel n im thinkin of takin a couple of hrs refresher course on reversing im wonderin if anyone has done this n did they feel the benefit for doin it im a good safe competent driver but i know this is a skill i need to improve on if im goin to get on in this industry :smiley:

its all in the positioning before you start to go backwards , stick with it fella it’ll come and you’ll wonder what all the fuss was about . no point anyone trying to explain just practise and it’ll come .

if you get chance sit and watch a good shunter and see how he does most of the work long before he goes backwards , i know you’ll be going to all kinds of different places but you’ll get the drift of what i meen .
and i promise it will come to you and you’ll crack it … good luck . :smiley:

i know what i mean about posioninting i seem to get it right n then tie myself in knots gets so frustrating n im on nights so its mainly dark when im doin it obviously i have heard of the horror drops that involve blindside of the main rd etc i just feel i can only gain by goin on a refresher as i belive that reverse monouver on the test counts for â– â– â– â–  all n although its easy for me or anyone who has passed to say this i think a little more reversing whilst learnin wouldn go a miss

You can do a refresher if you think you will benefit form it but just take your time stop look get out if you have to & remember that we are not " Russian " ( as my instructor told me about the gear box )

You could always ask the shunter to help you tell them you quite new & just wanted some advise