Moving to London - advice needed!

I’m planning on moving to London from Scotland at the beginning of 2012, and am looking for a bit of advice on the job market in London and surrounding areas. I have been driving for many years (HGV Class 1) and have managerial experience, and am currently researching the job market down there - which is proving a task!

Does anyone have any similar experiences of making the move to London, who can offer any advice on job-hunting, good websites/job papers to consult, reputable companies, areas, etc?

Thanks

Q. What’s the difference between a Scotsman and piles?

A. You can get piles to go back up. :wink:

Only joking, only joking, yes in theory it’s a good idea although you might want to broaden your search area into west Essex and north-west Kent as a lot of operators run out of those areas due to slightly lower land prices.

You don’t say why your moving to London? Because it ain’t like the old days pre credit crunch. Back then, 2004 & 5 i was clearing a grand + a week working as agency driver mainly for sainsbury at waltham abbey. They was the good times but since then rates have been well slashed, last i heard agency bods were lucky to get a 9hrs out of a shift.

You may have more job choice and variety down there still but i guess agency bods will be earning very similar takehome to up here in scotchland. Paying much more in rent though. Are you sure you want to move to London, if i was moving for work i would be heading for Northamton or maybe just off the M25 such as Hatfield or Dartford.

My advice is don’t! :wink:

bigvern1:
My advice is don’t! :wink:

A definite no-no.

Don’t bother, it’s a horrible place to live & work, that’s coming from 5 years of experience there, the best thing I done was leave London , ( and the misus) …

Rent boy at Kings Cross or Clapham Common