potential new driver

Hi
Looking for a bit of advice. I’m looking at doing a career change at the moment. Currently I’m a railway engineer working on the crossrail project in London but the project I’m on is winding up after xmas and I will be relocating back to Scotland. However as I don’t possess enough railway tickets or specific disciplines I’m a basic track worker and the rate is poor and there isn’t anywork in Scotland for my work related discipline. So im considering driving trucks. I would love to do international work as I previously worked for a well known Scottish coach company doing UK and European tours and really enjoyed it. I have always loved driving whether it be small or big distances so travel/mileage aint a problem. I enjoy my own company etc. However as the cost of living in London is MAHOOSIVE I struggle with money and trying to save the dough for a hgv class1 is proving really difficult. Does anyone know of any company who would be willing to train or currently train drivers for C+E licences with a contract of employment for a minimum of say 1-2 years to “buy-back” the time money etc for the acquisition of the licence. I know a lot of bus companies do this as I was one of them 10 years ago and my minimum term to cover the licence was 18 months. Any advice on this would be fantastic as well as any general advice on the job itself. :smiley:

re-read post, I may have been a little hasty, that’s the problem when trolls are abundant you tend to view everyone overly suspiciously…

Reef:

re-read post, I may have been a little hasty, that’s the problem when trolls are abundant you tend to view everyone overly suspiciously…

Yeah I think your initial post was a bit harsh mate… :laughing:
This guy can spell, so not Glory Boy/Bellend…

To the OP, you MIGHT find someone who will train you up, but the reason they will do so is probably because they are a crap firm who can’t get drivers for one reason or another…