howdy

i’m an owner operator who lives near indianapolis in the states. several years ago, i had the pleasure to spend time in the u.k., and enjoyed my time in your country. i found your people to be among the finest i have encountered, and enjoyed traveling. i was befriended by a gent who lived in chatteris, and was a driver in the 70’s for a.r.c. (amagamated roadstone) who gave a hitchhiker a ride, and ended up being a friend. shortly after arrived home, i was involved in an accident that broke my neck, and caused sufficient trauma to cause partial memory loss. one of my lost memories was the last name of my friend “tony”, but i remember he has 2 sons, and a wonderful wife. i was accepted as family by them, and for all these years, have tried to figure a way to contact them. if any of you know someone who might match the description of my long lost friend, i would appreciate a shout out.
my e-mail address is
koolkar1@netzero.net

now then, i’m interested in the power unit you folks run. i have a 470 detroit in an fld 120 freightliner with a 10 over transmission. the slang on this side of the world for my make of truck is a “freightshaker” and my old “shaker” has over 1,200,000 miles on it. it’s still very dependable, well maintained, and looks good, and i hope to see 2 million before it, or i, retire. maybe both of us.

i also work at indianapolis raceway park on the crash rescue team, and have since 94.

best of days to you all.

welcome to the madhouse. sorry can’t help your find your friend but hope you get lucky on here.

Welcome to Trucknet UK u.f.o.
Hope you find your friend

Hi ufo,im from Ireland.If you think the Brits are friendly you should meet a few of us :slight_smile: .
You ask about trucks over here,i have a Mercedes Actros,it has a v6 460 hp engine and an automatic 12 speed gearbox.
it is a timber truck and also is my avator.

Hiya UFO, no idea about your friend over here, but welcome anyway.