Complete newbie Need Help

Hi Everyone,

I work for agencies within the promotions and events industry and have mainly driven cars, minibuses ,or 3.5 tonne vans. After one event I was asked if I could drive 7.5 Tonne I said yes as my driving licence is pre 1997 so include the correct classes. I have driven 7.5 tonne horseboxes for my relative and also vehicles as a volunteer so have never been required to use a Tachograph. I know the principles behind them and have read various posts on here for both types of tachograph. I have applied for my Digicard as I am not sure what type of Tachograph will be fitted.

Most of the work will be to collect a vehicle (I assume this will be a hire vehicle) and take equipment to a site i.e. festivals, arenas etc and assist with set up / derig. Stay on site in accomodation or drive to new site. Some drives include Ferry Crossing to Ireland/Scottish islands no continental work all UK based.

I have looked at the many excellent posts and also the simulations on this site so have given myself a good understanding of how Tachographs work and the regulations etc but would appreciate help with a few of my questions below.

1. When I am using a Ferry what settings do I use i.e Rest, available, working
  2. When do I use available, Working mode.
  3. On my logs do I need to record hours when using my own vehicle to get to area to collect vehicle
  4. If i do any other driving for other agencies using vans etc do these hours need to be logged.
  5. As most vehicles will I assume be hires who downloads my driver vehicle data and provide discs, printer rolls as I will not probably see the agency only the event manager. Am I responsible for these. I am classed as employed by that agency.

Sorry for all questions but as I am new all help appreciated.

Thank You for a great site very informative.

Hi

not going to be able to answer all your questions, plus dont take my reply as gospel.