Hello and Tachograph advice wanted

Hello all,
Ive been hanging around this forum for a couple of weeks just to get a feel for things, and interesting it is.
Anyway a little background.
I am a driver for a small company based in the north east, doing delivery runs down to the south coast twice a week. Currently I am driving a sprinter but come the new year i will be driving a 7.5 ton, having the licensce requirement as I passed my test in 1996. I will be taking a couple of driving lessons before I start with the 7.5 ton for safety sake as I have never driven anything this large.

The plan(mine) is to get a few months/miles experience doing this then learn/pass hgv 2 and then move up to hgv 1 eventually.

Anyway the problem I have is that already my boss has instructed me that I must switch the tachograph over to rest/break mode when I am unloading(which I have to do). Of course I know that this is against the rules. Unfortuntely my boss will not listen to me. I am the only driver for this company and I would rather not get confrontational about this. However he is adamant “Im not running a bloody charity”. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks

My advice is stick to the rules.Okay i admit i am new to the tacho only passing my test in October but start as you mean to go on.

My advice is to do it the proper and legal way and balls to him.

He sounds like a nice fella. :unamused:

I would download the rules PDF and print off the lot and say i think you had better have a good read :wink:

you give in on this then he will push for more and your only end up right in it

the link is
Drivers Hours and Tachograph Rules

I have adjusted that link so we don’t have to scroll the page. Simon.

Make a written record of what he said and when. To some extent you have already done that be posting here, and TNUK, in support of any driver contesting a dismissal claim, would not hesitate to ‘evidence’ posts made here.