Paper Tachographs

Can anyone help me please?

I have recently decided to change career at the age of 46.

Up until January this year, I was a computer programmer when suddenly I was made redundant.

I have just signed onto a HGV training course and am currently studying for the theory part.

What I thought I would do meanwhile, is get a job driving a 7.5T (or smaller) doing multidrop just to get experience driving something bigger than a car.

Unfortunately, everyone keeps asking if I have tacho experience.

I have signed with one agency and said I would lookup how to fill in and use paper tachos but this is where my problem lies.

Can anyone advise me where I can obtain this info?

Something with pictures and instructions on how to fill one in, etc., etc?

I have looked on the internet but have come up empty, although I found lots on digital ones.

Hi Nick welcome to Trucknet :laughing:

There are a number of things you can do to bring yourself up to speed with the theory behing Tacho’s but the only way to really get familiar with them is use daily.

On here you will find lots of info on drivers hours law and tacho’s ansers but it takes some trawling through to find all you may wish to know. Check out the Law, Tacho & WTD forum first.

I would advise you get hold of a Drivers hand book fro the FTA, you can get the number from their website and order over the phone.

Actually filling in a tacho is easy just put the relevent info against the symbol indicating the activity, ie name, start point, end point, dates, mileage, etc

Also have a look at this link and see if it helps. Any questions just post on here and you will find everyone only too willing to help.

dft.gov.uk/stellent/groups/d … P354_31355

Good luck with the training :laughing: :laughing: