The tachograph red mist

Hello all, bit of a tangeant here.

I’ve been at my current place of work for 8 weeks, it’s my first proper HGV job, class 1 (never driven class 2 since passing a year ago) and involves going abroad. I have experience of driving buses and coaches, and with tachoghraphs.

I do full-on tramping, spending 8 weeks+ away from home. I absolutely adore the job and way and life, I could not ask for more from the company or work.

However, in 8 weeks I’ve made 3 mistakes with the tachograph, and had one bump in a yard. On all of the tachograph issues, I was legal. I just forgot to do stuff (or accidentally pressed buttons :unamused:), so the records don’t line up. I take print-outs, scribble on the back about my forgetfulness/mistake and put them into a zip folder. To me,the issue isn’t the driving, even on the other side of the road, or foreign languages (I’m self taught french). I have nightmares, waking up in the night having dreamed of messing things up with the tachograph, and I have the red mist of “not another mistake, not another red cross against my name”.

I do my best to avoid infringements and stick to the rules, but there’s just so many little things to remember in this job, and little things seem to have massive impacts.

I’m sure I’ll not be the first… or the last, but I’m trying to keep in the good books, and I feel like in my own mind I’m failing at that. This isn’t a pity post, but has anyone similarly started driving themselves nuts over this stuff, and successfully found a way to keep calm about it? Is this typical youthful newbie behaviour? Again I can’t fault the company for me finding myself in this situation.

Cheers

8 weeks away from home! :open_mouth:
i wouldn’t worry about a few simple mistakes…you’ll get better with experience :slight_smile:

carryfast-yeti:
8 weeks away from home! :open_mouth:
i wouldn’t worry about a few simple mistakes…you’ll get better with experience :slight_smile: