Thinking of changing career, right move?

Hi, newbie here :slight_smile:

I am currently thinking about training for my cat c, and possibly cat c+e after it.

I am a 26 yo male from kilmarnock, central scotland, and currently I am employed fulltime as a CCTV/Alarm engineer.I have been doing it for around 10 years now, and feel the time is right to start thinking about a new career.

I understand it is quite difficult to gain a fulltime job at the start, and would have to go through agencies, where I might only get 1-2 days aweek if that. I would be hopeing to stay in fulltime employment with my current job, and do agency work at the weekends, would this be possible?

Also does anyone have any tips or advice to help me get my foot in the door, and what is the likely average wage that I would be likely to receive after having passed for approx 1 year?

cheers,

Jordan

Stay where you are for now. Thousands of experienced truckers currently out of work so as a noob you stand no chance except perhaps getting all the crappy hard jobs that no-one else wants. Thatā€™s my advice fwiw.

Edit: typo

Rob K:
Stay where you are for now. Thousands of experienced truckers currently out of work so a noob you stand no chance except perhaps getting all the crappy hard jobs that no-one else wants. Thatā€™s my advice fwiw.

Quite true Rob as at least 1 haulier from the North East has gone this week :frowning:

If in that area expect to earn just above mim wage if that a bit further south from you here it is approx. Ā£6.5 for cat C Ā£7. CE p/h atm most agencies want at least 6 mth recent proven experience

But if you really want to do it wait till the boys from your area come on as there are a few

as most people are saying stay where you are! you have a sound job at the moment the security industry is booming! i myself am a security gaurd at the moment and i wanted to do driving! as said there is alot of experienced drivers out of work at the moment and despretatly looking!