Change of job

Hi everyone,
As you will see i am a newbie to this forum so please be gentle!
Anyway i am thinking of a career change and trucking is something that has given me an itch for a long time so i am about to take the plunge and book a cat C course for September, I just want to know out of interest is it ever too late to do it as i am nearly 38 and it would be nice to know if anyone of advancing years has gone on successfully to carve out a career driving LGV’s or is it a younger mans game?

Many thanks…

jimmymac

jimmymac:
I just want to know out of interest is it ever too late to do it as i am nearly 38

From my own experience on the road, Ive met other drivers who have come into the driving game at a later stage of life. Normally due to a change of jobs via redundancy or just old plain fed up. The driving scene has recently been an employers market, with the more experienced guys finding work over the newbies HOWEVER this now seems to have changed and recent posts on this forum shows newbies are finding full time work
:bulb: It might be worthwhile looking at THIS POST BY REDRORRY who is a little bit more mature than yourself

This post might be useful if you do go doing the HGV route :arrow_right: Job Hunting

Assuming you had passed your car test before 1997 and therefore have C1 entitlement on your licence you do not need to worry about the Inital CPC but instead the PERIODIC CPC

If you click the link in my signature (under this message) it will take you to an excellent thread with loads of information for before you start training

Many thanks for the reply Tonka,
I will definately take your advice in,
Thanks again…