The AGENCY INSIDER

Guys as some of you know i have stopped driving now and now work for a agency.

I work for one of if not the biggest agency in the country in the driving and logistics sector. Now as a X driver from Euro to uk tramping i get to see the other side of the story, i also worked as a agency driver at a few points in my career. I did i suppose to some move over to the bad side and i am now considered “scum”, but i thought i would share my experience and advice with you guys.

While i cant name the company i work for, see my posting about Brian Yeardley Transport i can however asnswer any questions you may have abuot how the agency works from the inside. The day to day life of a consultant, the problems caused by drivers and clients and the never ending issue of not enough work during the slow periods.

So I’m kind of leaving it upto you to ask me anything that winds you up about your agency or any worries about the work, or for new drivers the problems you get with starting to get your experience through an agency.

For a point to note the reason i changed my job is because i am only 29 and have had now two wives leave me because i was never at home. So needed a job where i would be home at a good time every evenng and not have to get up at the middle of the night to do an “early”. I get to spend the weekends at home knowing that i won’t be starting at 3-4am on Monday morning. I enjoy the role as i try to help as much as i can the guys that come through my door. The role is stressfull, in a different way to driving but just as much pressure. so the door is open for you slating.

P.S
If you are a cab happy fella who does not wish to make a constructive or useful comment please don’t bother. Also if your agency does not find work for you it aint my fault lol

Phil

Hi Phil,

Excellent idea and thanks for the opportunity for us to perhaps get some answers on the seemingly infathomable ways an agency works :wink:

My question would be: