Life working for an agency!

Alright lads i was just wondering if any of yous could shed some light on what life is like working for agencies, i think this is going to be my only way of gaining experience to begin with! I am a bus driver at present so hoping that’s going to help but i’m worried about bills etc i have a mortgage and a car to run so just how regular and how much can agency work be relied upon… I am based in Manchester aswell so hoping there is a fair amount of work about…

If anyone can share any help or experience would be a massive help even any particular agencies they can recommend would be great. Cheers chaps!

Hi damo. Cant help you with that one yet. But am sure some people be along soon to help you. Im same boat mate… been round everywhere with no luck. So tommorrw im ringing driver hire for appointment. Was last thing i wanted to do but looks like ill have to. So hope your post sheds some light for me too :smiley:

Availability of work for newbies is increasing. Keep knocking on doors till one opens.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

I’ve worked for agencies for 10years, most of my fellow agency drivers are self employed, I should have gone selfemployed but I thought it wouldn’t worth it but self employed maybe the best way to go, mind you I work out of Dirft at J19 M1. The best pointer I think I can give you is be reliable ie- time keeping, looking smart, being reliable, if you take job do it even if another agency offers you more money to cancel and work for them, don’t be frightened of saying no to a job if it doesn’t suit you, you’ve got 3months to make your name as after Christmas there will very little work. If you can work the unsocial Hrs, all the better, Supermarket DCs struggle Fridays through to Mondays early shifts 02.00 and late 12.00pm
Best of Luck