Tacho's on private truck

A point that interests me personally is the tacho requirement in all 7.5 ton and over vehicles not fin commercial use.

I’m an ex owner driver still holding an international ‘O’ licence & I’ve bought a 7.5 tonner to use as a race transporter for my hobby in motorcycle racing.(Ive packed in haulage now so can afford to race!!) If the (private) owner of a truck has to use a tacho, do they also have to keep these records for inspection?? and I take it the driver must adhere to ALL the relevant duty times. (bummer :frowning: )

I’m off to Spain with my truck for the first time in January for 4 days testing at Jerez and to ease things ‘over there’ I was going to put it on my ‘O’ licence for the duration to simplify things, do you guys think this necessary, it seems logical to me. (not being fluent in either French or Spanish)

One or two (11 :confused: ) of my friends bikes are going to be keeping my pride & joy company for the voyage and the owners may or may not be paying for the transport but none of this can be proven, I hope. Which is another reason for putting the litle wagon under the cover of my licence.

What do the experts think?

Ross.

Im no expert but interested to know what series you are racing in next year :stuck_out_tongue:

I like the quip

.(Ive packed in haulage now so can afford to race!!)

I agree that because you are carrying 10 other bikes down, an O licence and authorisation might be a good idea. Although all the bike transporters I have seen just have “Not for hire or reward” painted on the doors

My brother used to go down to Cartagena with his company van and a few mates bikes but it was only a sprinter so no operator licence needed although it did have a tacho