Slap Overs and Scanias

Hi Guys,

Couple of questions for you :stuck_out_tongue: The slap over gear box, ive never used one as im still learning but how do you know when you get in a cab if its in low range or high range? Is it slap it one way for high and another for low? Obviously in theory as the truck as been parked up you’d expect it to be in low range but i’d like to know for definate not have to guess surely?

Also Scania’s, do they use the slap over or are they the range change switch?

Thanks Guys!

jas07:
Hi Guys,

Couple of questions for you :stuck_out_tongue: The slap over gear box, ive never used one as im still learning but how do you know when you get in a cab if its in low range or high range? Is it slap it one way for high and another for low? Obviously in theory as the truck as been parked up you’d expect it to be in low range but i’d like to know for definate not have to guess surely?

Also Scania’s, do they use the slap over or are they the range change switch?

Thanks Guys!

Normally low range will be to the left on a double H

However a simple test if it is a range change with a switch.
Turn on the ignition and lift the switch, if it does anything it is a range change.

If it doesnt do anything, press the clutch, if it does something now, that will tell you it is a splitter.

Sometimes the range change will only work as it passes through neutral

As far as I am aware all Scanias have range change, some are 4 over 4, some are 3 over 3 - sometimes they have a splitter as well as a range change switch.

Slap boxes are 4 by 4. The way to make sure it is in low range is to slap it to the left and it will be even if it was before!

Ah ok so we think scanias have the Range Change Switch? I was under the impression that a slap over was the same as a 4 over 4 but instead of a switch you slapped the gear stick across which did exactly the same as the switch? Would that be right or not?