Points on licence

Hiya everybody.

I’m a new Class2 driver and this site is excellent. I have’nt been able to contribute anything so far but will try to in future as I get into the driving ambition.

Currently driving for an agency.

I had an encounter with a speed camera on the M1 J6 the other night and set it off. I have six already and don’t want any more points (should have slowed down !) Anyway I have three points coming off at the end of November so it’s not so bad. Anyone got any ideas how to plead to the magistrates ?

Is it possible to pay a bigger fine and get to endorsement ? Is it possible to avoid the points by claiming financial hardship if endorsed further ?

I am currently looking throught the stuff sent by “yorkie*queen” and it looks useful.

Anyone got helpful suggestions ? Had similar experiences ? Been able to avoid the points on licence ?

Thanks
Malc7

Welcome to Trucknet Malc7. Sorry to have to tell you but its a fixed penalty £60 and 3 points, non-negotiable. If you contest it through a court you are likely to be awarded a greater penalty if you are fined guilty, sad to say its sometimes better to put up and shut up, unless you are confident you have a water tight case.

Good luck with the agency driving. :laughing: :laughing:

Welcome to TruckNet UK Malc7 :smiley:

1ST OF ALL WELCOME TO TRUCKNETUK
2nd,A wee bit less on the gas will prevent you getting point’s ( you lose in this game the more points you get) :laughing:
3rd You should get it through the post within a fortnight( i’m sure Krankee will confirm or deny this) if it doesn’t then you can contest it.
4th if it does arrive in that time then sorry m8 you ain’t got no choice but to pay towards the policeman’s ball this christmas. :laughing: :laughing:

CM: