Owner Driver. Who to pull for?

Good evening folks,

I have been a driver for nearly 20 years now and I am fed up of making other people money and just getting by myself. I have decided that I am going to go and drive for myself.

The question is, who should I pull for? I have tried the search function but I can’t find what I’m looking for.

I will be based to the south of Bristol and there seems to be a good choice available to be. I’ll list a few for you and I’ll let you tell me who is good and who should be taken out and shot!

Wincanton (containers)
Maritime
N R Evans
Lidl
Gregory Distribution
Eldapoint
Elite

If you, or anyone you know, pulls for any of these firms, can you let me know what they are like.

I don’t plan on being rich as I realise I’m in the wrong industry for that, I just want to get a reasonable ammount in my back pocket and the bills get paid.

Thanks in advance

Wincanton and elite, taken out and shot :sunglasses:

Maritime have a depot at Avonmouth, pretty good to work for, but i’m being ran from Southampton Depot on a specific contract and am being kept busy.

don’t know about any of the others

Gregorys seem a good firm (from an employed driers point of view)

migt be worth giving them a ring and “having a chat”

I believe that InBev are currently recruiting some extra subbies to pull their trailers out of Magor and Samlesbury, you would probably have to contact head office in Luton. A rare chance for an OD to work directly for a blue chip customer these days.

They are good enough to work for and the money is very safe, you will never, ever have to ask for a cheque. Slightly odd job though, it pays a weekly rate, regardless of what you do; there are quite a few ODs and small hauliers who have been on it for many years so it must work out for them.