Newbie here!!

Im interesting in re-training for a new career, as a trucker! I’ve just turned 19, so I was thinking about the “Young Drivers Scheme”. I have done quite alot of research over the internet, and i like the idea of it all. Just wondering how i go about the training etc. I live in Dumfries (sw scotland) and wondering if anyone knows of any companies that take young drivers. Also, whats the pay like…is it just a training allowance that you are paid??

Any help greatly appreciated! :smiley:

hi DJ,i dont know much about the young drivers scheme,but i would say the best thing to do,is sit down and get a list of all the transport companys within your traveling distance,and give them a call,and invite yourself to go and have a chat with them,if they can see you are prepared to put yourself out and make the effort to visit them,and explain abit about the scheme to them,then it might make them sit up and think,worth a shot mate, im sure someone will be along soon anyway with some more info for ya :smiley:

The problem that I am sure you would find would be finding someone to take on someone your age, a lot of insurance companies want over 25 or more than 2years experience. The local paper here carried a story a while back about a girl who had gone through the scheme and was working for the council driving a dustcart.

I keep seeing brand new snowploughs with Scotland Trans Serv or something on them heading up the M40, maybe they’ll be wanting some drivers.