new drivers

ive recently read in truckstop news that there is a driver shortage of 100,000 drivers in the uk and they are wanting “new blood” to come into the industry
i passed my c and c+e in july last year after being made redundant from the railway in march , i was very lucky to drop onto a job driving c+e within 2 weeks with a local company, the money isnt good for the long hours but im new to the game then i found out all the other drivers are on the same wage, ie long hours and no overtime pay. after a few weeks in the job i was looking at other jobs better money not many nights out that sort of stuff. There was jobs out there but NOBODY is willing to give new drivers a chance at all not even agency which i tried to stay clear of, they all want 12 months to 2 yrs experience, how can u gain experience if no one will give you the chance to gain experience i just thankfull to my company who gave me the chance and being able to get the experience i need

you are very lucky mate, i passed in october and aint had a sniff of a job yet. your better riding out your current job til you get more experience and then start lookin about.

yesterday i emailed a company my CV who were advertising for a class 1 driver, 2 hours later i get a phone call from them, have a brief chat, made sure i told him i only passed in october, he said fine, come in for a interview, so i jump up get ready and off i go to the interview, i get there, we have a chat, he asks to see my licence, he sees i only passed in october and says sorry we cant take this any further as you dont have any experience. i was majorly zb’d off, 50 mile return journey for nothin. :smiling_imp: :smiling_imp:

Sad but true I’m afraid mate, as said- if you can put up with it, you’re better off where you are.