New drivers allowed?

Hello all, I’ve only recently (3 months ago) passed my Class 1 test so am new to the forum, hope you will go easy on me!! :blush:

I was a Manager in ‘sales’ but got fed up of the stress involved so did something about it. Been doing agency since passing and I’m really enjoying it. Luckily enough I’ve managed to get a full time job and start tomorrow - it’s container work - so would anyone have any tips for a newbie?

redbob:
Hello all, I’ve only recently (3 months ago) passed my Class 1 test so am new to the forum, hope you will go easy on me!! :blush:

I was a Manager in ‘sales’ but got fed up of the stress involved so did something about it. Been doing agency since passing and I’m really enjoying it. Luckily enough I’ve managed to get a full time job and start tomorrow - it’s container work - so would anyone have any tips for a newbie?

Obviously not :confused: :frowning:

@redbob give it time some people work nights some work during the day
have a look through the site and some time later people will start to answer

If you’re not sure of anything - ask! Better ask a ‘daft’ question than face the consequences.

Also… don’t treat all advice as gospel, especially that given without you asking for it!

Hi Redbob, firstly, who are you on for and where?

as for advice, make sure you undo the twistlocks BEFORE the container is lifted off and AFTER the new one is on :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth:

as daft as it may sound, you would be surprised at how many people forget this simple job :unamused:

if you are picking up a loaded container from anywhere, drive very carefully for the first part as you do not know how it is loaded and what the weight distribution is like.

do not run with the sliding skelly in the shortened down position (20’ tipping position), even with an empty container, it is dangerous :exclamation:

if you want anymore advice, PM me with specific questions or for a general chat about it :wink: