LGV training centres in Scotland (Edinburgh area)

Hi folks,

Just joined here, hope everyone is well !

I am thinking of gaining my LGV licence (both class 1 and 2). Does anyone know of any training companies round about the Edinburgh or Central Belt area that does LGV training ? I tried a search on the internet but didn’t turn up much for this area.

Also, is it best to do that Class 2 then try and find some work driving them for a while before going on to do the Class 1 or is it best to do them one after the other ?

How easy would it be to get weekend work to start with ? I currently work in IT and am relatively well paid and I wouldn’t like to leave that job permanently until I can find myself another permanent job driving, which, from reading other posts on these boards can be hard to come by for newly qualified drivers. I know it would be minimum wage type of thing, but can you sign on at agencies for weekend work only to begin with ?

Thanks guys, and apologies for all these questions ! :slight_smile:

• J.

stay in IT mate…i work in IT as a mainframe analyst working 4days on 4 days off & drive trucks on my 4 days off…you will have to start at the bottom of the pile once you pass your LGV & do all the crappy jobs to get experiance, the good payed jobs are taken & you will have to fill dead mans boots to get them.

Hi Darren,

Thanks for the reply.

Yeah, well, I intend on staying in IT for the forseeable future but could just do with a bit of a career change if you know what I mean. I understand that I’ll get all the crappy jobs to begin with, and be at the bottom of the ladder pay-wise but every job is like that to begin with (at least every one that I’ve had!). Just figured that I could work weekends to gain experience firstly before really deciding if that’s what I want to do for a living. Always wanted to drive a truck since I was a little boy so figured nows the time !