Just Passed My C+E, What To Do Now?

Hi all,
I’ve read with interest many of the posts from new drivers, experienced drivers, male drivers and female drivers…some happy :smiley: some not :frowning: .

I passed my C+E test last week, I’m based in Manchester and I’ve been a Graphic Designer for 10 years but have grown tired of it and since this was something I always wanted to do, thought I’d take my tests and happily passed with no major hiccups.

My question is, is agency work the best way to get started? or is it good old fashioned footwork, contacting as many companies as possible in the hope that one will give a novice a chance?

I’d like to get started on artics sooner rather than later although I understand I will probably have to start on class 2’s but whats a fair guide to (timewise) before looking at an artic job (2 years seems such a long wait and I don’t really want to take much of a pay cut, i’m on 17k at the minute)?

I’m reluctant to hand my notice in as I don’t know what to expect from the industry, any advice welcomed with open arms.

goto agency and ask for sat or sunday work,trunking if possible (its easier) that way you get experiance and keep your full time job. don’t expect mega bucks and watch out for your finish time on sunday so you can goto work normal monday…days may be best to start with and ask for class 1 work ,so if they put you on class 2 you should get class 1 rates.good luck,

I work in an office full time and for the past 20 years have done agency work part time on a weekend or evening - good experience and now a days seems to be a lot of weekend work about.

My question is, is agency work the best way to get started? or is it good old fashioned footwork, contacting as many companies as possible in the hope that one will give a novice a chance?

try both you never know :wink:
it might not be the best time of year to look though.

P.S.welcome to TruckNet :stuck_out_tongue: