Hi just introducing myself

Hi i am another wannabe! i am 43 !!! is that too old to start? reason being i am a qualified carpenter and been doin ok for the last 20 years, but as you read in the papers things are goin down hill for certain reasons , i cant earn the money i used to and am really fed up an dissillusioned so i need to do something i like! as a kid i wanted to be a lorry driver but never knew how to or got round to it, my mates dad took us to sheffield at 4am in a atkinson gardener 180 ! see it made an impression on me at 9 years old that i remember it well, it was an ash tipper. any way to get to the point i passed the medical and waiting for my provisional to return, i bought the theory book and have suprised myself i feel i am doin ok at the moment, anyway if i pass that i am planning to take my C+E in enfield, with a firm called 1st class trucking, then hopefully get some experience, i am looking to be able to earn 25k i hope this will be posssible, anyhow i am glad i found this site thanks to truck & driver mag. i would appreciate any advice as i am keen to learn from experienced guys, cheers Paul…

You aint to old mate. :slight_smile: :slight_smile: Ive just passed my C and im 42. Ive got my C + E next month. Age is not a problem, if you consider as long as you have your health you will still have 21/22 legal driving years left in you. Good luck with the training and keep us posted.

Hi donpablo

WELCOME.

There’s an easy answer to your question- NO. You’re not too old to learn a new skill. A good training provider will tell you that age is no barrier to learning.

So, good luck with your training. There’s plenty of good folks on here, and most will offer you any help you need. Just ask :exclamation: