Hi all,

I’m 28 years of age, from Midlands and currently in the process of undertaking my C and C+E licences. I have been driving cars for 9 years.

I have worked in logistics, warehousing on supervisor/team lead roles for the last 4 years, but I am in a dying business and redundancy is looming. I have always liked trucks and there is a lot of truck drivers in my family on my fathers side. Driving and cars is also my number 1 hobby and I like being out and about on the open road as opposed to stuck in an office so these were some of the reasons ive decided to undertake my licences.

Last year I passed the medical, sent off and received my licence back from the DVLA with my provisional entitlement and then went on to pass my theory, hazard perception and CPC case studies all first time. I did not get chance to undertake the training/tests last year because I had a health issue with my stomach and they thought I may have needed a minor op, but it transpired I didn’t, the money id saved I then paid off some debts with as I didnt see me doing the training/test in that year so now I am just getting the pennys together again to undertake it this year, hopefully around may/june time as I do have points on my licence ( thought I was insured to drive a friends car when I wasn’t - a simple mistake which cost me dearly and one ill never make again! )

I have done a lot of research and learning into truck driving, the only things I need to really brush up on is drivers hours (see below), it seems everyone has there own opinion/idea of the rules!