Heavy Goods Vehicle - Instructors Course

Hi, I was just wondering if anybody could recommend a reputable driving school, where I could obtain certified HGV driving Instructor status.

I have 30 years HGV driving experience. but would like to obtain certification for teaching purposes as the engine is getting worn out.

I have received a list from the DSA, but living in Ireland I dont know who would be the best.

Many thanks for any info

John :slight_smile:

alright mate. i did all my lessons with the airport driving school in dublin and they were extreamly helpful and i managed to pass every thing 1st time due to them taking time to explain things in detail to me and there teachin techniques. Id say give them a call and see if they do the course.

ROG may be the best person to give advice on this, he will no doubt see this thread at some point or you could PM him.

jr-1:
Hi, I was just wondering if anybody could recommend a reputable driving school, where I could obtain certified HGV driving Instructor status.
I have 30 years HGV driving experience. but would like to obtain certification for teaching purposes as the engine is getting worn out.
I have received a list from the DSA, but living in Ireland I dont know who would be the best.
Many thanks for any info
John :slight_smile:

Hi John, this is one post you may like to read trucknetuk.com/phpBB2/viewtopic. … +instuctor

You do not need to be DSA registered to do LGV instructing - you just need the talent to teach and a driving school that will let you in :exclamation:
Companies like to put “DSA registered instrutors” on their advertising as it sounds good to the punters.
IN MY OPINION, and that of many other instructors I know, the DSA LGV instuctor test only proves that the instructor can pass a test and has little or no bearing on being a “good instructor”.