Any LGV instructors here?

Is anyone a DSA registered instructor/assessor? I’m considering doing the DSA course for instructing and assessing for the new driver CPC, but need a bit of truthful advice! My local training school have given me the price of the course to become one, but I need a realistic idea on potential work and earnings etc. If any of you guys can give a bit of advice I’d appreciate it.

Mark. (brookie)

ROG is no doubt lurking some where on here, carefull though he has his senior moments. :laughing: :laughing:

There as also other on here as well so one will be along shortly.

I am a DSA approved LGV/PCV Instructor and I can easily earn more money just driving a truck than I can training some one to drive one, even for a low paid company like the one I work for… :exclamation: :exclamation:

Oh and my advice would be leave it … :astonished: :astonished:

I did part one and part two for the DSA LGV Register a couple of years ago. The problem was finding work. I tried all the driving schools in my area and the companies with large operating centres and couldn’t find an opportunity anywhere.

I gave up on it before I spent to much money on gaining a qualification that wouldn’t provide a good income.

I made a perfectly good living for 4 years without being DSA registered, it doesnt help you do the job any better so my advice would be to not bother.

I will PM you later tonight. Just finished work 9.30pm.

Is rog ok? It’s not like hem to be away for so long. I’m a bit worried

This will certainly cost you.!! I asked about training to deliver the cpc. and Rog helpfully answered saying that I would have to find £1000 just for that part of the course ,The practical part would bring on astronomical costs.