Dropped a trailer on it's knees

Read a newsletter in the canteen last night about how many drivers have dropped a trailer without winding down the legs? 38% of drivers claim they have.

I have while on shunting, but the legs had collapsed straight through the trailer so I don’t know if that counts.

Another one is where I was in the process of dropping a trailer and someone came over to talk to me for half an hour and as I got into the cab, I had remembered.

Am I tempting fait here?

iv never dropped one but i have had a runaway once. wound the legs up and the whole thing started rolling forward. i managed to catch it before it hit anything though :smiley:

How many of us have dropped a Trailer
Yes - have More than once
Nope - I’m a Professional still a professional but also capable of stupid mistakes
Nearly a few more times than actualy done it :open_mouth:

Yes once about eight years ago. My excuse is the ever popular S.I.M. (Someone Interrupted Me.)

Not yet but had a Close call on Wednesday Night :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Backed under trailer leaving room to connect Suzi’s, as it was one of the older trailers without the sliding holder containing connector sockets, got out of cab and connected them up and then loader came with paperwork, stood talking for around 5 mins and then went and lifted legs, jumped into Cab and started to pull foward around 5ft and realised I hadn’t backed fully onto pin :open_mouth: :open_mouth: :open_mouth:

Luckily A) the trailer was full of fruit and pushed down on the 5th Wheel and B) the trailer brake had not been applied by the Shunter so it moved forward with me.

But there’s a first time for everything and nobody is Perfect :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

scanny77:
iv never dropped one but i have had a runaway once. wound the legs up and the whole thing started rolling forward. i managed to catch it before it hit anything though :smiley: