Depot approach dilema ?!

Wanted to see how other drivers would approach this (this was my run this am)…

Had to drop at a depot I have not been to before (city location) - so as usual I spoke to the people that had been there before to get directions.

The opinion (4 other drivers with a lot more experience than me) was that it was best to turn into a “No Entry” and approx 100yds the wrong way down a one way street (this is at 5am) to avoid having to blind side it into the yard.

Dependant on what is in the yard it MAY be possible to screw the trailer around in there and avoid reversing through the gate at all, although if it is possible it will be very tight.

That is all the info I had to go on…

What would you do ■■

G

Depends on whether you are happy forking out the fines from your own pocket.

To me it is simple. It’s a No Entry and a One Way Street. Don’t know about you but I’m a professional and part of that involves obeying the law.

If they want to have a yard with poor access that is up to them but I’d make their lives a misery by making them unload it where it was if there was no room to turn round as well as having someone watch me reverse out of the place as well as having someone watch the back end as I tried to turn around - in other words, they’d have to supply a banksman.

Upto you . If you decide to drive down the NO entry and the cops turn up tell them you have reversed all the way down the street and have missed the yard a little so need to shunt forward a bit …

:laughing: :laughing:

go as far as you can and ask then the management of depot what now

Gazzareth:
The opinion (4 other drivers with a lot more experience than me) was that it was best to turn into a “No Entry” and approx 100yds the wrong way down a one way street (this is at 5am) to avoid having to blind side it into the yard.