Cat C

I am a newbie here and I’ve heard different opinions on this matter

I have passed all cpc modules all but practical lessons and driving test!
I work on the bins so can pretty much drive straight away!

If I was to pass my cat c driving test would it be possible to drive straight away say next morning?

I already have a digicard ready but we work on domestic hours but I’m sure we still need it!

I’m unsure how the system works so would appreciate friendly feedback!

Hi and welcome. You can drive commercially immediately you pass your practical test as you already have your Mod 4 pass.

Can’t see why you would need a digicard for bin work if it’s normal domestic bin collection which runs on domestic drivers’ hours. But, as you hold it, you should keep it with you in case you’re asked for it or end up driving something that requires it.

You’re in a great position with having a job to go to.

All the best with it, Pete :laughing: :laughing:

I’m on the bins doing domestic and commercial, for domestic we put the digi card in and set the tacho machine to out of scope. But yes if it’s domestic pickups then you don’t need it but it’s always good to put it in and get used to using it while you don’t actually need to, that way if you ever need to use it commercially you have a bit of a head start.

Peter Smythe:
Hi and welcome. You can drive commercially immediately you pass your practical test as you already have your Mod 4 pass.

Can’t see why you would need a digicard for bin work if it’s normal domestic bin collection which runs on domestic drivers’ hours. But, as you hold it, you should keep it with you in case you’re asked for it or end up driving something that requires it.

You’re in a great position with having a job to go to.

All the best with it, Pete :laughing: :laughing: