Just passed my Cat C-a quick question re: digital tachos

Hi all

Quick introduction first. I am an insurance underwriter by trade but having been made redundant twice in 4 years and struggled to find a new job I thought a career change in order and people seem to need drivers more than underwriters!

Made the decision to be freelance via agencies as it suits my home life and have done a few months on little vans and thoroughly enjoyed it so last week did my Cat C course with the test on Friday which I am delighted and very relieved to have passed (pretty much used the last of my redundancy money on the course!).

Was properly bricking it for the test and had the shakiest clutch leg going during the reverse but pulled through with 9 minors (albeit my examiner did say I sailed close to the wind in a couple of land changes - borderline impeding) so well chuffed.

Initial driver cpc all done and dusted well so I’m good to go except the digital tachograph card.

Now, does the 15 allowable days without one only apply to those who have lost one or does it apply to newly qualifieds who have applied for one also?

I have an agent with plenty of work for me and can’t wait to get our there but don’t want to turn up for a job and realise I can’t do it as I don’t have the tachograph card.

Cheers all

DTT

I would not turn up with out digi tach

Have you sent for this yet :question: as they are pretty quick in sending them out mine has alway taken less than a week

I dont think you can work really. You need to get one first and those 15 days are for lost/stolen only if i remember correctly

danthetrucker:
Initial driver cpc all done and dusted well so I’m good to go except the digital tachograph card.

Now, does the 15 allowable days without one only apply to those who have lost one or does it apply to newly qualifieds who have applied for one also?