Car bodies from Cowley

Hi, i’m a newbie on here and wondered if anyone can help me. I remember in the '60s seeing wagon and drags moving car bodies between Cowley and Birmingham/Coventry, some Commers, light blue in colour, and was wondering would they have belonged to the Pressed Steel Co. as I don’t think the B.R.S. changed their colours until 1970. I also recall some vehicles running in and out of the works being dark blue, would these have belonged to B.M.C.? :confused:

Hello Big g unit, I think the light blue one had Press Steel Fisher on the side but may have been contract motors from BRS, the dark blue, could they have been H&M Transport, I worked out of there in the late 70,s 77 onwards for HW Dines from Bicester. we used to take panels up to Linwood for Chrysler or was it Talbot by then and we used to take them up to the bus factory at Workington

Hi dieseldog6, Thanks for your reply, I was beginning to feel lonely, :laughing: I think H&M were a bit after the time in my question,the 60s, just pre British Leyland. H&M I believe were two descendants of J. Harding & son, (Harding & Moore). J. Harding became the B.R.S. at Sandy Lane and H&M I think ran from Joe’s original yard at the top of Rose Hill. It’s a long time ago now ay, but something I was trying to get clear in my mind. H W Dines now, were they the ones with the slogan, “Dines can do it”.

I remember around 13 yrs ago the first time i went to spain, ended up going down to Frans Maas in Valencia, on the way down saw 2 7.5tonners, both wagon and drags, light blue Mercedes 814’s i beleive, with car shells on, cant remember the name on the door, maybe the same firm?? Also used to see them inGB, the bodies were specced up specifically to carry the shells.

There you go Big G