Butlers of Oxford

Hi everyone this is my first time, so be gentle with me.
I just wondered if anyone remembers Butlers of Oxford. they had numerous shops in and around Oxford, and I worked there for a while in the late fifties early sixties as a van salesman. they had three morriss commercials, a commer half tonner in black and white livery, and a Bedford flatbed in cream signed up Cherwell Foods, that was used mainly for collecting sacks of potatoes from lincolnhire. This was driven by a chap called Boke Moore.
Some of the other drivers were Ted Clarke,Colin Foster Tom ■■? John Wilson. Other staff that worked in the warehouse,bakery, shops, and offices that I recall were, Pete Kershaw transport manager, Tom Butler and Geoff Alderson, John Foster (Colins Brother) and many nice ladies in the packing dept whoes names I cant recall except Jackie ■■? and Of cause Mr John Pether the Boss Man The top salesman was a chap named Robert Cleary who left and went to work for MARS and then started up his own bussiness, and eleven years after leaving Butlers I wound up working for him @ Robert Cleary Ltd Wholesale soft Drinks and Beer supplies for 30 years. I wonder where all the others are ■■? thanks for reading this regards BUTLERBOY.

Hi butlerboy, and welcome to the forum, glad you decided to post, what took you so long!! :laughing: I remember some of those names, and am wondering if the Ted Clarke was the same one who lived in our street, and was my best mate throughout my school years and early teens. It seems strange now that we could go our separate ways in our early working years and never cross paths again!