advice please!

First of all i only joined the forum yesterday so i would like too take this chance to say hello.

I have read hundreds of threads which have given me a good idea of life as a HGV driver in this country, i am currently pondering a career change (not this old chestnut i hear you say) :slight_smile:
Ive been doing joinery for almost 10 years now and to be honest i am sick of it, what with money going out of the trade partly to do with all the Eastern Europeans over here working all hours god sends for next to nothing,- it’s hard to get a decent wage for all the time and effort you put in so hence the possible career change - A few years back when the Joinery went a bit slack i applied for a job as a courier for a big company i did around 6 months in the job and i had the ups and quite a few downs along the way plus the money wasn’t brill so when the Joinery picked up i went back to that because of the difference in salary but i enjoyed most of the courier job all be it for 6 months…

Anyway this week i registered with an agency and straight away i got a call from them saying we have a job on Monday and Thursday working for a firm delivering drainage pipes around the country so i accepted and have been driving the 7.5t trunk to Liverpool,Bolton and yesterday Peterborough but driving on the motorways along side you guys in the 44/18 tonnes it’s had me thinking about taking my Class 2.

This is where i want some advice please! :unamused:

Should i continue driving the 7.5 picking up all the bad habits or should i start taking class 2 lessons ?

Plus can anyone comment on Sterling training as i have enquired with them and it sounds okay but read a few bad posts regarding the minutes actually driving and the hours spent at the roadside caf’s

Thanx