Advice on Training & just to say hello

Hi everyone,
I just signed up a few days ago and have been browsing and reading.

I am looking into doing my LGV tests for both classes, fairly shortly. Next few weeks hopefully.
I currently work as a courier so pretty much doing the job already, all be it a smaller vehicle.

Looking to get out of the courier side of things as p_ssed off, at constantly never knowing what time you are going to get home at.
As, the courier industry is un-regulated in the respect of drivers hours you very often find yourself driving 14-15hrs a day, most days.

I enjoy driving, but I also like to get home to the wife still alive, lol.

Anyway, got a question about training.
I live in Feltham, Middlesex a stones throw from London Heathrow can anyone recommend a decent training school in the area?

I was considering Sterling in Slough and Wallace in Wembley.

I just read a post on here from an instructor, he never mentioned Sterling but he never had too, as the deal he mentioned is the same deal they offered to me and from what he said, I think I will give them a wide berth.

I have read a couple of posts on here praising Wallace but I think you do your class 1 on a tow and drawbar rig, which I don’t really think is adequate.
If you want to drive Cat 1, you need to train on Cat 1.
You can upgrade with Wallace to the full artic but that bumps the price up by another £470.

I know you get what you pay for but do any of you guy’s have any recommendations ■■

Thanks in advance,

Harmudge.

Welcome :slight_smile:

harmudge:
As, the courier industry is un-regulated in the respect of drivers hours you very often find yourself driving 14-15hrs a day, most days.

Someone will correct me if I’m wrong but surely domestic driving hours apply here; 11hrs daily duty, max 10hrs driving.

They get you to sign a disclaimer before you start and because you are self-employed it’s pretty much up to you.