A Day In The Life of a Truck Driver - contributions wanted!

Calling all UK Truck Drivers…

I’m a student doing a project on Distribution Centres and I need to produce a ‘Day In The Life of a Truck Driver’ for my portfolio. Would anyone be willing to help?

I guess there is no such thing as a typical day but I’d like to hear about all the problems (and hopefully pleasures too?!) that you experience in the course of a normal working day - from the moment you wake, through the hours spent on the road, to the issues of overnight parking - anything you could tell me would be much appreciated!

I am specifically looking at the Tesco Distribution Centre in Didcot, so any input from drivers who call in there regularly would be particularly useful, but any contributions at all are extremely welcome.

Thanks!

Brace yourself. :wink:

Coffeeholic:
Brace yourself. :wink:

Agreed - your project may make disturbing reading :blush:

If you search for the diarys people put on here you may get a decent amount of info, otherwise - what do you want to know?

Using a super market carrier bag to relieve one self,when caught out.What is with the signs that say toilets are for customers only,and the loo is a tardis,plastic box,with no paper and fluid to wash away debris.They are in lay bys.No water in the sink,that you press down on the button on the floor to operate.
One day they will do a RyanAir and charge a £1 to use them if you dont buy a cholestrol butty.

OMG,This could be interesting. Stand by with that blue pencil Coffee.

Are you the ‘Swains Cyclist’? This is a deeper and very murky puddle.

I think is going to be a hot topic :grimacing:

I am not the Swain’s Cyclist…

I am fully braced…

I have been reading everyone’s posts on here for a week or so now and it makes for very interesting reading! I hadn’t thought about searching for diaries though so thanks, will do that now.