Thinking of doing C+E training

Hello people
I am thinking of becoming a class 1 driver, after being a rigid driver for just over year now.

There is one thing that really puts me off the whole idea. Reversing into and getting out of tight parking bays at RDC,s and services etc.

There’s been many a time I have been parked at Services and only just managed to get in or get of a parking bay if its been very tight, as I drive off I think how the hell does an Artic driver manage this.

As a rigid driver I always am worried about tail swing so if coming out of a bay I have to drive far enough out so as my back end doesn’t swing into anything.
I have noticed with artics there doesn’t seem to be much tail swing when they turn. They sort of snake out like in a sort of curve.

So I wonder to myself is this the trick that enables something 15 to 20 foot longer then me get out of tight parking bays etc, I mean is it to do with the articulation of an artic?

I would really like to know from Class 1 drivers how they manage to get into and out of tight parking areas and particulary drivers who have gone from rigids to artics what was this like? Are they harder to park in your opinion once you get used to it?

Any advice is really appreciated
Regards.

I find rear swing far less of a problem on artics.
Passed 3 years ago but only used class 1 since Nov.

By all means not mastered reversing but refuse to be rushed and given time can put the trailer wherever I need.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

I would really like to know from Class 1 drivers how they manage to get into and out of tight parking areas

Training/practice/training/practice/training/practice… repeat until mastered.

For CE training, it’s most important that your trainer has a proper size, correctly marked reversing area. In our case, the reversing area forms parts of our private driving test centre so our candidates benefit from practising on the concrete they’ll be tested on.