Help Please - spreadovers etc

Please can anyone explain to me in “dummy guide” language:

1. What does a 15hr spread mean?
  2. I know i can drive for 90 hrs in a fortnight, but when does a fortnight start?
    eg if I start work on a Wednesday, is a fortnight 2 weeks Wednesday? What if I drive more than 90 hrs?
  3. If I get stopped by the police and they check my tachos and they ask for the last card for the previous week but i don’t have it because I started work on a Wednesday, what do I do?
  4. Some drivers tell me that a letter from my employer stating I am a new driver hence no cards, is this ok?

Thank you.

You need to get info on tacho rules. Hve a look at FAQ on this site.
15 hours spread over= maximum time on duty. In every period of 24 hours you must have a minimum of 9hours off but not more than 3 times per week.

eg start at 6am. you must be finished by 2100 hours as you need 9 hours off within that 24 hour period.

You cannot drive more than 90 hours in a fortnight. To do so is an infringement and will make liable to to a fine or worse.
You can start your 14 day period from a Wednesday.

Take your time
Merlin

Hiya newdriver.
The EC 3820/85 regulations are as clear as mud:
Definitions;

Week, a period from 00.00 Monday to 2359 on Sunday
There is no weekly driving restriction as such but a weekly rest must be taken after 6 periods of driving.

You are correct in thinking 90 hours max in a fortnight. i.e 48 hours week one would limit you to 42 hours in the second week.

You can only drive 9 hours per day, however this can be increased twice a week to 10 hours. You are limited to these hours between 2 daily rest periods.

Daily rest periods are a minimum of 11 consecutive hours per day but this can be reduced to 9 hours three times a week with any reduction made up by the end of the following week. And to confuse you more you can take a rest of 12 hours broken up into 2 or 3 periods, one of which must be 8 hours :confused: