Thinking of taking the plunge.

Hi :blush:
I have just got it into my head to become a truck driver. I am a cab driver now and have been for 13 years. I have loads of freedom at the moment as to when I go to work; I like working evenings/nights and try to be ā€œout thereā€ when I think I can make the most cash. I enjoy the job, its easy money really, I just need a change, and to drive down some different roads. I am a little scared of change (it must be old age, Iā€™m 38!) and I do wonder how you guys cope with manoeuvring those bloody great trucks through everything on the road.
Reading through the posts here I am unsure about a couple of things. How the wages are usually calculated? if there is a standard method. If I was out on the road for a week, driving here there and every where, living in the cab and I am being paid hourly, which hours would I get paid for?
Does anyone know if the fees paid to a driving school are tax deductible?

welcome to trucknet timid :laughing: pay is ussually either paid hourly with overtime but some companies just pay a flat hourly rate so you get the same for every hour you work or saleried pay swings and roundabouts with this you get x amount of Ā£s per week every week regardless of what hours you do so it pays to try and keep the hours to a minimum if you can but salaries in my opinion are going up just depends on the cost of living in your area .nights out are paid on top of your basic wage tax free under a certain amount i think its around a bout 18 quid a night but this can be higher or lower in certain areas of the country. youd have to ask the guy n gals that have just passed about the cost of training cuz my class one cost Ā£650 including a retest 8 years ago and i know its alot more expensive now .as for get the trucks into places it comes with practice mate .you never stop learning theres always somthing new to make ya stop and wonder.my advice go for it and good luck.cheers jonah :laughing: