Wannabe driver in desperate need of advice!

I like to think I’ve done my research into entering the industry. In reality I’ve barely scratched the surface.

I spoke to a training centre the other day hoping to get a better understanding, the ones you find on Google with the posh website. Well they were dinging bells on the call centre when they got someone to jump on board, like it was a stock brokerage! They would have answered my questions with answers I want to to hear.

But I don’t want that. I want honesty. I’m 23, and have family, house, bills, etc to pay for so this is a move not taken so lightly.

I appreciate as a newbie I will probably need to do the jobs the experienced don’t want to do and some times that may mean long hours.

But is it realistic of me to expect not to do trunking work and not be away?

Is it realistic to expect to eventually work say 40 hours per week (traffic allowing of course!)?

To the experienced truckers what’s the work life balance like to begin with and after a while?

And realistically what are the wages like?

I want to do this so bad but so cautious about my family too!

Thanks guys in advance.

Have a look for Rog, anyone saying they’ve passed and he’ll no doubt be on congratulating them, for a link in his sig 're training schools, also you won’t find a bad review of the board sponsor Peter Smythe.

40 hours is very unrealistic. You can manage to avoid tramping, harder to avoid trunking. What is it you think you want to do for work?

albion:
Have a look for Rog, anyone saying they’ve passed and he’ll no doubt be on congratulating them, for a link in his sig 're training schools, also you won’t find a bad review of the board sponsor Peter Smythe.

Link in my signature below :smiley:

I meant tramping not trunking! Lol

So guys come on, let’s say I do this and get into driving what’s the work/life balance like for the family drivers out there who come home every night?