Realistically what are my chances?

I’m currently doing my driving lessons and have my test in a few weeks, once I pass I’m hoping to start my class 2 lessons about 6 months later but I’m honestly wondering what my chances are when an employer sees that not only do I have no class 2 experience but I’ve only been driving 6 months. Is it a bit silly going for a class 2 licence so quickly after passing my test? Should I give it 12 months instead?

I dont think that being 6 or 12 months will make a difference

If you can afford it then get what licences you can ASAP

Don’t know! But the sooner you earn the entitlement, the sooner the “licence held” clock starts ticking, and that seems to matter to quite a few places, so the sooner the better in the long run if you’re sure it is what you want to do?

Doing a car/van driving job in the meantime might improve the look of your CV a little?

SJB:
Don’t know! But the sooner you earn the entitlement, the sooner the “licence held” clock starts ticking, and that seems to matter to quite a few places, so the sooner the better in the long run if you’re sure it is what you want to do?

Doing a car/van driving job in the meantime might improve the look of your CV a little?

Yeah as soon as I pass my test I’m probably going to grab a pizza delivery job or something just so I have driving experience. I guess it makes sense to get my class 2 as soon as possible then so I get licence time under my belt. It’s definitely what I want to do, class 2 first for a few years and then class 1.

Many firms won’t care.

Sainsburys will take drivers who are 18 with zero experience now if you can blag an assessment. At some sites.

Tesco are the same.

In some ways you are in a great position. You will be keen, and ready to graft. Compared to many (including myself) if the job looks hard we are not interested.

Go for it.

sammym:
Many firms won’t care.