Need Advice

I made a thread few weeks ago, after asking friends and family and most of them think it would be better if once i got my driving license, currently doing it, i try and get a job driving a van to get experience on the road, rather then passing my driving test and going for Cat C straight away. What do you guys think is my best bet. Thanks

If you have no licence at all at the moment then you may even find it hard to get van work until you have a bit of driving experience, so I would have to agree with them.

Well im not quite sure how im going to get driving experience without getting some sort of driving job lol

Well, things have changed in the last decade since I was a young driver, and had only just got my licence. My own experience is that if you want to be a driver (lord only knows why someone would choose to be), then just do it. Van driving experience isn’t really gonna make a lot of difference. It’s always going to be hard for a young, newly qualified driver to get that important 2 years experience, but as long as you show intuition, and that you’re eager, there’s always someone that will take you on. Even Stobarts takes drivers on with no experience, but I’m afraid you’d need your class 1 for them.

Good luck, what ever you decide to do.

Reubs

LewisG94:
Well im not quite sure how im going to get driving experience without getting some sort of driving job lol

I mean experience driving in general :unamused: You will be lucky if you get a job driving somebody elses brand new sprinter loaded with expensive cargo when you only passed a car test the week before. You will be even luckier if you got a job driving LGV when you had only passed your test the week before and your car test the week before that!

skids:

LewisG94: