HGV1 Night out Allowance

Hi folks,
First post on here. Is the overnight subsistence allowance a legal requirement? I don’t need to know about the tax implications as I know its tax free and that the current rate is £26.20/night.

I am a new driver. I lost my previous job of just over a year, due to a stupid error (no truck damage at all).

I have just started working for a small haulage company - needs must.
The pay is very low(£120 per shift, not per hour before tax) and very long hours ie averaging 12-13hrs.
No extra rate for working weekends or public hols.

I work weekends Fri-Mon’s as a night tramper.
I am not sure if I will stay with this company but it is good experience although I feel they are taking advantage? TIA.

No, there is no legal requirement for employers to pay “night out” money.

Ok. Thanks for that. Guess I will need to start looking for new work as I was previously getting night out money,decent hourly rates for weekends, Sundays etc.

Got to be better paid weekend work out there somewhere! I knew paying per shift not by the hour, was going to work out a pittance, by the time you wait to be tipped, road diversions etc. Lol.
Worst paid job I have ever had!

Roymondo:
No, there is no legal requirement for employers to pay “night out” money.

I think there is

Perhaps others can shed light on this so am going to move it to the PDF

The class of vehicle makes no difference to the amount paid.

I was going to comment here but as the answer is only a 3 second google search away, for both you and your employer, I won’t bother :smiley:

I get 25 a night . Been on 25 a night for 4 years now.
Should be more really
Average 1 night a week sometimes 2.
Your looking at £7 for tea
Same again for breakfast and again for dinner
Can easily spend about 20.

Suppose if your at a decent company that pays parking. And you get a free/ discounted evening meal wouldt be to nad