Walking floor ?

May be a daft question (I’m still fairly new to trucking), but what is a ‘walking floor’?
Saw an artic at Nisa RDC Scunthorpe and it had it written down the side.
Just wondering :wink:

keano1:
May be a daft question (I’m still fairly new to trucking), but what is a ‘walking floor’?

Basically. What is says on the tin. the floor is made up. or overlaid more like, of full length strips of normally aluminium. about 4" 125 mm wide, as one goes back the other goes forward, and the load basically walks out, or in for that matter. It’s kind of a tipper, that doesn’t tip :laughing:

a walking floor is a trailer which empties it self by being connected to a PTO using hydraulics.usually there are 21 or 24 floor boards running the length of the trailer these move in sets of three in one direction then all the boards move in the opposite direction at the same time .AW JENKINSON and STEVENSON OF AVONBRIDGE are major users of these trailers to tip bulk sawdust and woodchips i used to use one at ALEX ANDERSONS OF BO’NESS you can also move pallets in them with a good PTO you clould tip it easily within 10 minutes

hope this helps

a few years ago i drove a forklift in an fertiliser baggin plant the bulk fert was unloaded in fraserburgh and transhiped to our store one of the first few wagons in was a brian harper of insch with a walking floor, they had wanted to try it out on somting other than wood chips, if i remember right the walking floor bulker was empty before the bulker next to him got to the third stage on his tipper, 26 tonne of bulk fert in less than 90 seconds if i remeber correctly

I’ve had a Chipliner on today…

How many buckles? :open_mouth:

renaultman:

keano1: