Wages down !?!?!?!

How can that be FFS!?

I live in Central Scotland, I’m a Class 2 HIAB driver. Work up here died a total death about a year ago, but has been very slowly picking up a bit. I’m currently driving a wee skip lugger, which is the worst job I’ve ever had, so every day, I check the net for new jobs.

I’m sure wages are down a bit on last year. I’m seeing HGV jobs (not 7.5t btw) for as low as £6.00p/h, which is a total disgrace. How can this be?

it’s due to supply and demand in a recession mate

more like takin the ■■■■

Napoleon, I know how you feel matey. I have had to bit the bullet and do something I wouldn’t normally do. :open_mouth: (No not that !!)
I am Class 2 with HIAB ticket (never had chance to use it yet). Been doing fairly regular Class 2 agency work, but it’s a bit up and down. One week plenty of hours, next week only a few days. And I’m one of the ‘preferred drivers’ I’m told. Anyway today agency boss rang today asking if I wanted a full time job driving 7.5t :open_mouth: with a company I’ve done a fair bit of Class 2 for. Wages only £6.50 p/h but suppose it beats the peaks and troughs, and not knowing from one week to the next if I’m working or not. It’s easy enough work and the company are good to work for, so sometime it’s a question of having to do what you have to do I guess.
Good luck mate.

keano1:
Napoleon, I know how you feel matey. I have had to bit the bullet and do something I wouldn’t normally do. :open_mouth: (No not that !!)