Thinking About Taking The Plunge

I have been working in a factory for the past 20 years and have just taken voluntary redundancy which leaves me with about 2 yrs before needing to find work. I really enjoy driving and have driven various bits of kit, albeit a long while ago, from Tractors to massive dumper trucks on opencast sites.

So the question is after spending hours trawling this site, is it worth going for all the bells and whistles in one go and spending upwards of 3 grand, only to find I can’t get work. It won’t help having 3 points either sp30.However being in the luxurios position of not having to earn I could try some of the local hauliers offering to go out with drivers unpaid and hopefully picking up a few hours driving here and there under the supervision of an experienced driver and I hope this leading to full time work.

I am under no illusion that I will get rich from this but being paid to drive has always been unreal to me especially the dumper trucks they were fun.

So what are the views go for the lot or do a bit at a time or forget it.
I am thinking

C then C+E then adr and driver cpc + maybe Hiab.

Any help and advice welcome .

Hi sootydog

Welcome to the forum.

What a lot of questions, thats a good thing by the way.

The job situation will to a degree depend on where you are in the country, at present we can guarantee work for our passes, before any one starts shouting yes we can, and we arrange an interveiw before you have spent any money and the job offer is in writing subject to passing.

Next your age is in your favour, I know unusual aint it.

To do your C and then C+E including Medical Theory HPT VAT and test fees should come in well under £3,000.00 a top line would usually be £2,700.00 and as I say that would normaly be a top line for every thing.

If you would like information on your area feel free to PM me and if I can I will try to help ie; work/ trainers etc in your part of the world.