Should I go for it?

This is my first post, thanks for taking the time to read it.

I’m thinking of going for my C+E licence, I am going to have to do my C licence first and I am 43 years old.

I have spent the last 5-6 months driving a 7.5t doing 50-60 drops a day for a less than “caring” company (who shall remain nameless, for now).

I have a few questions:

Does anyone have experience with any training companies in Northamptonshire? Good or bad? I want to get the best out of my £2000+.

What are the chances, after passing, of getting a job driving in Europe? This is what I really want to do and I have lots of experience driving a 30ft, LHD yankee motorhome all around the continent. I even speak a little of some of the languages.

Are these jobs sought after or rare as hens teeth?

Should I take my test with drawbar or artic? I’m attracted to the artics.

Finally, why do companies use drawbar and what are the differences in driving them?

Thanks for any advice you can give me, it’s going to be the answers from this forum that decide if I go for the licence or not, so it’s important to me.

Should I take my test with drawbar or artic? I’m attracted to the artics.

Finally, why do companies use drawbar and what are the differences in driving them?

Go for the same setup as you plan to drive, but realistically you’d be better off with an artic as they are more common.

With a drawbar / wag& drag outfit the training school can put a trailer behind their rigid and they saved the cost of keeping a unit on the road. I’m sure that the drag will follow the rigid well unlike an artic trailer which will cut in more.

It’s reckoned to be easier to learn in the wag & drag but it might end up being dearer / harder in the long run.

Rog will surely be along with some advice soon.

Lots of questions there!